Adventures in Bike Commuting: Week 2

Sunday night/Monday morning. This bike commuting takes a hell of a lot of planning, which admittedly is not my forte. First, I have to check the weather forecast on Sunday night and look at my weekly schedule to see which days will work best for my commute. Mondays are out, at least for now, because I teach mid-morning and don’t want to risk a flat tire making me late; I get Simon on the bus by 8:30. Looks like Wednesday and Friday are the best possibilities.

Monday I’m nearly late for work anyway because I’m getting all my stuff together. It feels like I carry less stuff on a 3 day business trip. Then, I hide it all around my office so it doesn’t look like Andrew kicked me out of the house.

Wednesday is commute day this week. Inwardly, I groan a little. My quads are sore. I had a tough 19 mile run at Umstead on Saturday, where I ran too fast (then came home and found out I should have dropped the mileage since the 50K is two weeks away, not three). Tuesday morning I did hill repeats with the Peeps and my legs were still sore, even though I took it easy.

Then, I tested out the family road bike Tuesday night after work. It rode like butter. Smooth and fast. It was awesome! Diane rode with me and gave me some great tips as we cruised around North Raleigh, and I had a chance to practice my shifting. But the soreness deepened, enough for me to put on compression tights and wear them to bed!

I was a little stressed getting everything together—I really wanted to attend the 9:00 meeting with the Dean, faculty and staff of the College to hear about the decision not to sell the Hofmann Forest. I didn’t get out the door until 7:40, forgot water, and hadn’t tested my 22 year old REI Novara panniers. My heel hit them on every upstroke. On the way home, I remembered that they are left- and right-specific, so once I put it on the right side, the cut-away portion was perfect [duh].

I knew the temps had dropped overnight, but 40s seemed cold. I wore ¾ length compression tights, a fleecy running shirt, my light windbreaker and my bright orange running vest. I wore a buff under my helmet to keep my ears warm, and my warmest running gloves. That seemed like a good combination; I arrived at campus in an hour and 7 minutes without feeling either too sweaty or chilled. I slid into the College meeting in plenty of time.

I’m starving by 10:15. Morning bike + long distance run training will do that to you. My lunch was gone by 10:30; my afternoon snack followed at 11:32.

The forestry seminar (which was excellent) finished late and didn’t hit the road until after 5:00. It was time to see what a rush hour commute was like on bicycle. The most distracted drivers are near NC State, which is scary because it also has the most pedestrians and cyclists. But, I’m not on the road for too long before I hit the greenway. It was cool to see how many people are out after work using the greenway system for exercise—Shelley Lake being the most popular, of course.

01 Mar 18

It always makes me happy to see folks unwinding outside after work. Shelley Lake was the most popular but there were people out on every part of the greenway. #Raleighgreenwaysrock

Riding north after I passed Shelley Lake, I saw a familiar face—a fellow bike commuter! I’d seen him on my way in that morning. I grinned and waved at the older, serious-looking Asian man, who was riding purposefully. No acknowledgment. Is there a secret handshake I was missing? Maybe just a knowing nod next time? Newbie problems.

I arrived home feeling tired but mentally refreshed—I really enjoyed the commute time to think and unpack my workday.

WEEK 2: one road ride, one commute, about 46 miles.
NOTES:

  • Planning really is key if you are committing to ride in. This week, both Wednesday and Friday looked like good weather days. With an early-ish important meeting on Wednesday, I waffled, thinking I could drive in and ride in on Friday. It ended up raining both Thursday and Friday. Go when you can.
  • My old bike bags worked great! Far superior to the sling bag. I may bring both and that way not have to bother with storing clothes at work.
  • My Specialized Crossroads hybrid was just as good as riding Andrew’s mountain bike with road tires. I would not chance riding the road bike on the greenways–too rough in many places.
Leave a Reply

